CS:GO Pro Plays #4 – Some deeper thoughts and general musings

(read down for my general thoughts, below that there is the embedded video of episode 4, below that is my thoughts on the episode itself)

Hey guys,

First off, it’s been a long time since I’ve created a post here, but as many of you who follow me know, I’m still making content on my youtube channel and also for FACEIT.

Let’s talk about my new CS:GO series.

So I’m finally on the fourth episode of the CS:GO pro plays, and I wanted to do a little write-up not only to bore you, but to inform you as to the goals with this series as I’ve come to realise there is a lot of potential for the format. Oh and, the feedback has been great all around too so it’s something I know you guys are enjoying, which is always absolutely fantastic to hear.

In the course of creating this series, since episode 1, it’s really tested my editing skills and I’ve had to learn a lot with Photoshop and Vegas, with help from my friend ZeRoQL (of flukkz media, and content producer for FACEIT). And I finally feel confident in creating something that can look well produced, something simple at least like this series. Episode 3 took me 8 hrs, and this last one took me around 6-7hrs.

I believe it has a lot of potential, but the primary idea is to create an accessible and clear break down of well executed rounds from the professional teams. Not only to show how it’s done so people can re-create it- but more importantly to elucidate on the simple logic at play on the high level, to show in the most accessible way the beauty of the game as an esport.

I actually have a lot of really good ideas for similar content, it’s just finding the right way to execute them and the time for it. For now I’ll just focus on creating what I have to my best ability, and when I’m happy with that I will branch out. I’m thinking of also creating more blogs like this one not only to create a write-up for those interested in some slightly deeper thoughts or musings, but to give a place more visibility for myself regardless of what I’m doing or where I am– and also to generate a “go-to” place for all content that comes from me. Plus I need to practise my writing badly as I feel as if it’s been slipping lately. If you don’t use it, you lose it ‘n all that.

So without further ado, here is the fourth episode of the CS:GO Pro Plays:

So, first thing– Let’s talk about the bad. NiP really had a horrible round here. The point of these episodes is to focus on a few points, so the most important information is understood without dilution. In this write-up I can focus on the other things, woo! To go in a little detail here, f0rest miss executed in apartments missing a very easy kill. He proceeded to back off, push short through Fifflaren’s smoke on quad (!!! with a rush starting) and without support he was killed by Byali. Now this is one of those things which some people would call very dumb, but on a high level it can be due to the meta-game. It’s huge risk that can reward well, but honestly I would never advocate a play like this. Ever. He was completely flashed, the flashes were thrown and designed to flash a player defending from that position so Byali could make the frag. So, yeah.

*slaps f0rest on the wrist*

We can talk about how things would go with a perfect setup from NiP on the defense, but that comes down to the information Fifflaren has as the caller, and the decision he decides to go for. As CT the biggest principle is- work out the play of the T side and create the perfect setup with correct smokes and flashes (or incendiaries). This is another video concept I will develop in the future, as it’s a must to my collection of CS:GO analysis!

So it does look like a “perfect” round from Virtus.Pro and the idea behind the rush was fantasic, but at the same time NiP had a lot of poor play. Once Fifflaren was backed into the site, he wasn’t able to execute well either, trapped alone there, with no support from pit he was completely pinned in. It’s a situation which is okay if you execute really well, but as people who are familiar with my Quake videos will know, the big focus is always on consistency. Execution is not consistent, but decision making always will be– the best decision making gives you the best chance to win. Once Fifflaren and f0rest are taken out without any losses or delays on Virtus.Pro’s side, it’s over.

If we talk about the good, I’d like to discuss the merit of having clear roles in a strategy like this, but there’s also another principle we didn’t see at play, dynamic roles, because Virtus were able to keep all their players alive. Clear roles create a very clear idea of EXACTLY where you need to look and what you need to do, with rehearsal this creates a very strong situation psychologically for Virtus. This lets them play ‘brainlessly’ as all the brain work was done in the creation of the strategy and the during the rehearsals of it. There is this famous idea, “you win the game the night before during practise”.

The second idea I want to talk about which had no bearing on this game is dynamic roles. This is the idea that, certain roles have priority and must be maintained even if the player initially playing that role is lost. So if you lose the bomb carrier or key supporting players, strategies may still work if the role with least priority switches into a role with more priority.

If Byali dies for example, or perhaps if Snax dies. Playing dynamically is an absolute must, as things will not always go so perfectly as they did in this instance for Virtus. To do this, you need a clear understanding of priorities and of role, and the caller needs to quickly adjust the play if too many players are lost and a contingency must be initiated. This is something that again can be practised and prepared for in rehearsal, as strategies especially against good teams, are not always going to go well. So for example, if Byali dies and Neo doesn’t get the trade on f0rest, the strategy falls a part because Pasza may be too far behind and the bomb is down on short. If Byali dies and Neo does make the trade, it’s down to the players in apartments to quickly clear pit, and Pasza has to go with Neo to help him plant as that’s more important than flanking, etc. This is also a concept for another video, how to assign priority or value to certain roles or positions, but I’ll leave the point there for now.

So as you can see, roles, priority, contingencies and dynamic play are all important concepts to think about when we look at a round like this. And I could write a lot more, but I think I’ve covered some interesting points that weren’t in the video, which was my aim.

Thanks for watching, thanks for reading. Let me know your thoughts.

If you feel more comfortable discussing it on reddit instead of my site, here’s the link

Until next time! 🙂

Cheers

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

